SlaFMig;EMiFo

Slavery and Forced Migration in Western Mali

Esclavage et migrations forcées dans l’Ouest du Mali

SlaFMig: What is it?

The SlaFMig action research program is led by Dr. Marie Rodet of SOAS University in London in collaboration with Professor Bakary Camara, Director of the LERDDL at the University of Legal and Political Sciences in Bamako, Dr. Lotte Pelckmans of the University of Copenhagen in Denmark, and the Malian associations Donkosira and Temedt, represented by Mamadou Sène Cissé and Mohamed Ag Bilal.

SlaFMig is a three-year research project (2020-2023) funded by the British research agency UKRI under the GCRF fund.

The SlaFMig program aims to analyze the past and present links between protracted forced displacement and descent-based slavery in Western Mali in order to propose appropriate solutions. We are interested in the circumstances in which these displacements have occurred over the past hundred years and why they have not always been addressed by colonial and post-colonial authorities.
These forced displacements linked to slavery (which take place mainly in rural areas) pose real challenges to the development and socio-economic integration of the displaced communities and the region as a whole.
These populations experience difficulty in accessing essential resources, such as access to land and economic development support, which often prevent them from leading stable and peaceful lives.
As a result, displaced populations fleeing slavery remain vulnerable to other forms of exploitation, such as modern slavery.
Mali does not yet have a law criminalizing descent-based slavery that could protect these populations during their attempts to claim their rights to equality.
This action research program is accompanied by outreach and awareness-raising activities by the Malian associations Temedt and Donkosira. Such awareness campaigns are conducted among Malian populations to combat the discrimination that certain communities in Western Mali are subjected to because of their local categorization as “slaves”.

NEWSLETTERS

Blog

EMiFo;SlaFMig

Esclavage et migrations forcées dans l’Ouest du Mali

Slavery and Forced Migration in Western Mali

EMiFo : Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Le programme de recherche-action EMiFo est dirigé par Dr Marie Rodet de l’Université de la SOAS à Londres en collaboration avec le Professeur Bakary Camara, Directeur du LERDDL de l’Université des Sciences Juridiques et Politiques de Bamako, Dr Lotte Pelckmans de l’Université de Copenhague au Danemark, et les associations maliennes Donkosira et Temedt représentées respectivement par Mamadou Sène Cissé et Mohamed Ag Bilal.

C’est un programme de trois ans (2020-2023) financé par l’agence britannique de la recherche UKRI sur le fonds GCRF.

Le programme EMiFo a pour but d’analyser les liens passés et présents entre déplacements forcés prolongés et esclavage par ascendance dans l‘Ouest du Mali afin de proposer des solutions appropriées. Nous nous intéressons aux circonstances dans lesquelles ces déplacements se sont opérés au cours des cent dernières années et pourquoi ils n’ont pas toujours été pris en compte par les autorités coloniales et postcoloniales.

Ces déplacements forcés liés à l’esclavage (qui ont surtout lieu au sein des espaces ruraux) posent de véritables enjeux de développement et d’intégration socio-économique pour les communautés déplacées et pour la région dans son ensemble.

Ces populations sont confrontées à des problèmes d’accès aux ressources essentielles, telles que l’accès aux terres et le soutien au développement économique, ce qui les empêche bien souvent de mener des vies stables et sereines.

De ce fait, les populations déplacées fuyant l’esclavage restent vulnérables à d’autres formes d’exploitation, comme l’esclavage moderne.

Le Mali n’a pas encore de loi criminalisant l’esclavage par ascendance qui pourrait protéger efficacement ces populations qui sont encore victimes de violences lorsqu’elles tentent de revendiquer leurs droits à l’égalité.
Ce programme de recherche-action s’accompagne d’activités de vulgarisation et de sensibilisation menées par les associations maliennes Temedt et Donkosira auprès des populations au Mali afin de lutter contre les discriminations dont sont encore victimes certaines communautés dans l’Ouest du Mali du fait de leur assignation locale au statut dit “d’esclave”.
Plus d'info

NEWSLETTERS

Blog