Tag: EMiFo

14
Jul

Introduction newsletter n°7, July 2022

Dear SlaFMig readers, After a few months of absence, the SlaFMig/EMiFo action-research program is back to share with you the latest activities! On the research front, the members of the Donkosira association have been the most active. First of all, they participated in a qualitative research training with researchers Marie-Christine Deleigne and Marie Rodet in May 2022. On this occasion,

Read more

14
Jul

The workshop in Gilleleje (Denmark), May-June 2022

The SlaFMig/EMiFo team was able to meet in Denmark from May 27 to June 3. The members of the Donkosira association (Mamadou Sène Cissé, Mariam Coulibaly and Assa Waly Diakité) and the research team (Dr. Marie Rodet, Dr. Lotte Pelckmans, Dr. Marie-Christine Deleigne, Aline Desdevises) met in Copenhagen before going to Gilleleje, where the workshop was held. The first days

Read more

14
Jul

Organization of a third SlaFMig advocacy workshop, Paris (Gennevilliers), June 2022

As a follow-up to the Bamako and Kayes workshops in 2021, an advocacy training workshop was held from June 4-7, 2022 in Gennevilliers with anti-slavery activists from the associations Gambana RMFP Mali and Ganbanaxuun Fedde ARMEPES Mauritania from the diaspora in France. The objective of the workshop was to strengthen the capacities of the members of these movements in advocacy

Read more

17
Dec

International Point Sud Conference in Bamako, Mali, from 1-4 December 2021

From December 1-4, the workshop “Mobility, Mobilisation and Displacement in ‘post-slavery’ West-Africa” took place in Bamako, Mali. Organised by Lotte Pelckmans (SlaFMig / University of Copenhagen) and Paolo Gaibazzi (University of Bayreuth) through the research center Point Sud, different actors came together to exchange and discuss the topics of mobility, descent-based slavery and its repercussions in different countries and contexts.

Read more

17
Dec

Newsletter #6, Introduction

Hello dear SlaFMig follower,  Here we are again with some fresh updates to read over the Winter holiday season, for those of you who have one.  We start with the main news and activities coming out of Mali. We are thrilled by the newly reinforced involvement of the minister of justice, Mahmadou Kassogué, in the fight against descent-based slavery: He

Read more

17
Dec

Sophia Stille, Intern at SlaFMig, Student in Advanced Migration Studies at the University of Copenhagen

My name is Sophia and I am a student in the Master’s programme ‘Advanced Migration Studies’ at the University of Copenhagen. Previously I obtained a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Groningen, Netherlands in ‘International Relations and International Organisation’. I am very interested in Human Rights and the intersection of (contemporary) slavery and migration studies. I joined the SlaFMig project

Read more

17
Dec

New determination of judicial authorities in the fight against descent-based slavery in Mali

In the absence of a specific law criminalizing descent-based slavery in Mali, judicial authorities face difficulties in categorizing this offense based on the relevant Penal Code. To overcome these difficulties while waiting for a specific law to be passed, the Minister of Justice, Mahamadou Kassogué, issued a ministerial order (n°0000863 of 11 November 2021) on the management of cases related

Read more

16
Dec

Kayes TV covers the Bamako workshop (October 2021) 

Malian media Kayes TV  covered the Bamako workshop organized in October by the SlaFMig program. This advocacy training workshop brought together people locally and in the diaspora, and helped increase participants’ advocacy skills and build relationships and networks among this diverse audience. See the report. 

16
Dec

Renouveau TV’s report on the theatrical tour organized by the SlaFMig program, November 2021

Renouveau TV made a report on the theater tour organized by Donkosira and SlaFMig in Kita and Mambiri, and interviewed some of its organizers. See the report here.  

16
Dec

Renouveau TV’s report on the Awareness Forum in Kayes, October 2021 (French and Bambara)

For two days, Kayes hosted the Awareness Forum against slavery and for peace, following the advocacy training organized in Bamako. The Forum brought together various participants, and Renouveau TV made a report on this Forum, and interviews with the organizing members of Donkosira. See the report in French or in Bambara.

Tag: EMiFo

14
Juil

Introduction newsletter n°7, Juillet 2022 

Cher.es lecteur.rice.s EMiFo,  Après quelques mois d’absence, le programme de recherche-action SlaFMig/EMiFo revient partager avec vous les dernières activités menées !   Sur le plan de la recherche, ce sont les membres de l’association Donkosira qui ont été les plus actifs. Ils ont tout d’abord participé à une formation à la recherche qualitative avec les chercheuses Marie-Christine Deleigne et Marie Rodet

Read more

14
Juil

L’atelier de Gilleleje (Danemark), Mai-juin 2022

L’équipe SlaFMig/EMiFo a pu se réunir au Danemark du 27 mai au 3 juin. Les membres de l’association Donkosira (Mamadou Sène Cissé, Mariam Coulibaly et Assa Waly Diakité) et l’équipe de recherche (Dr Marie Rodet, Dr Lotte Pelckmans, Dr Marie-Christine Deleigne, Aline Desdevises) se sont retrouvés à Copenhague avant de rejoindre Gilleleje, où avait lieu l’atelier.  Les premiers jours ont

Read more

14
Juil

Organisation d’un troisième atelier EMiFo de plaidoyer, Paris (Gennevilliers), juin 2022

Dans la continuité des ateliers de Bamako et de Kayes en 2021, un atelier de formation au plaidoyer s’est déroulé du 4 au 7 juin 2022 à Gennevilliers avec les militants anti-esclavagistes des associations Gambana RMFP Mali et Ganbanaxuun Fedde ARMEPES Mauritanie de la diaspora en France. L’objectif de l’atelier était de renforcer les capacités des membres de ces mouvements

Read more

17
Déc

Conférence internationale Point Sud à Bamako, Mali, du 1er au 4 décembre 2021

Du 1er au 4ieme décembre, l’atelier « Mobilité, Mobilisation et Déplacement en Afrique de l’Ouest ‘post-esclavagiste’ » a eu lieu à Bamako, Mali. Organisé par Lotte Pelckmans (EmiFo/ Université de Copenhague) et Paolo Gaibazzi (Université de Bayreuth) à travers le centre de recherche Point Sud, différents acteurs se sont réunis pour échanger et discuter les thèmes de la mobilité, de l’esclavage par

Read more

17
Déc

Newsletter n°6, introduction  

Cher.es lecteur.rice.s de SlaFMig,  Nous voici à nouveau avec des nouvelles fraîches à lire pendant les vacances d’hiver, pour ceux d’entre vous qui en ont.  Nous commençons par les principales nouvelles et activités en provenance du Mali. Nous sommes ravis de l’implication nouvellement renforcée du Ministre de la justice, Mahmadou Kassogué, dans la lutte contre l’esclavage fondé sur l’ascendance. Il

Read more

17
Déc

Sophia Stille, stagiaire chez EMiFo, étudiante en études avancées sur les migrations à l’Université de Copenhague, Décembre 2021

Je m’appelle Sophia et je suis étudiante en Master « Advanced Migration Studies » à l’Université de Copenhague. Auparavant, j’ai obtenu ma licence à l’université de Groningue aux Pays-Bas en « Relations Internationales et Organisation Internationale ». Je m’intéresse beaucoup aux droits de l’homme et à l’intersection entre esclavage (contemporain) et migrations. J’ai rejoint le projet EmiFo en tant que stagiaire en septembre 2021.

Read more

17
Déc

La nouvelle détermination des autorités judiciaires dans la lutte contre l’esclavage par ascendance au Mali

Face à l’absence d’une loi spécifique criminalisant l’esclavage par ascendance au Mali, les autorités judiciaires sont confrontées à des difficultés pour catégoriser ce délit basé sur le Code Pénal en la matière. Pour pallier ces difficultés en attendant le vote d’une loi spécifique, le Ministre de la justice, Mahamadou Kassogué, a pris un arrêté ministériel (n°0000863 du 11 novembre 2021)

Read more

16
Déc

Kayes TV couvre l’Atelier Bamako (Octobre 2021)

Le média malien Kayes TV a suivi et couvert l’atelier de Bamako organisé en octobre par le programme EMiFO. Cet atelier de formation au plaidoyer a rassemblé des personnes localement et dans la diaspora, et a permis d’augmenter les compétences des participant.e.s en matière de sensibilisation et de créer des relations et des réseaux au sein de ce public hétérogène.

Read more

16
Déc

Le reportage de Renouveau TV sur la tournée théâtrale organisée par le programme EMiFo, Novembre 2021

Renouveau TV a réalisé un reportage sur la tournée théâtrale organisée par Donkosira et EMiFO à Kita et Mambiri, et interviewé certain.e.s de ses organisateur.rice.s. Voir le reportage ici. 

16
Déc

Le reportage de Renouveau TV sur le Forum de sensibilisation à Kayes, Octobre 2021 (Français et Bambara)

Pendant deux jours, Kayes a accueilli le Forum de sensibilisation contre l’esclavage et pour la paix, à la suite de la formation plaidoyer organisée à Bamako. Le Forum a rassemblé divers participant.e.s, et Renouveau TV a réalisé un reportage sur ce Forum, et des interviews des membres organisateurs de Donkosira. Voir le reportage en français ou en bambara.  

Read more